AGE IS REALLY A NUMBER AND 70 IS THE NEW 60???

AGE IS JUST A NUMBER or 70 IS THE NEW 60

Just got off the phone with a solicitor from a group that Carol supports. The first thing that teed me off is that I answered the phone (unknown number appeared on it); the woman asked if I was Carol. Not sure what this person’s hearing is like, but I really don’t sound like Carol.

She then went on to tell me that she was calling to get some additional funds for her organization and when would Carol be back. I told her that she was out of town and would not be back until next week. She then told me that my wife was probably having fun, drinking and carousing.

First of all, Carol has never caroused, even if I knew the actual definition of the word. Secondly, when you’re in your mid-seventies, your carousing days are at a minimum. She then told me the biggest alternative reality I have heard in a while. “Age is just a Number.” So what do the numbers 76 and 81 mean?

Since those are the life expectancies of men and women, are they just numbers. How about 70 is the new 60. What does that mean? Do people who pretend that stuff really feel like they are 60? Is that just a way of telling 70 year olds to act like they did when they were 60? Does that go for any age 60, 70, or 10 years old?

It really isn’t true that you are as old as you feel. You are your age, and depending on your health, you are the age that you are. I cannot imagine, at age 78 that I should act in way that minimizes my age. I am proud of my age. I think that it’s fine. I have learned a great deal during my 78 years and intend to learn more if I am given that chance.

Keep away from me your fakers of age.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

