TWO THINGS ARE HAPPENING TO ME

There are always a number of different ways of looking at a situation. Although that’s an old bromide, it is certainly true. Look at what’s going on in our country with the current election cycle. With each news cycle, you can click your remote and find various opinions on the same piece of news.

It is with this in mind that I describe to you two things that are happening to me at the same time.

When I was growing up, there was very little public discussion of what could happen to you if you stayed in the sun too long. So it was that I spent lots of beach time without protection of any kind, other than some sun tan lotion. The UV block had not yet been invented.

I also went around playing ball without a hat or any other covering. In later years, I would drive a car with one arm out the window and the other arm attached firmly to the steering wheel. The UV protection on the windshield had not, as yet, been widely used.

On one particular day, in the military, a couple of friends and I went to Savannah, Georgia and wound up on a beach. It was 104 degrees in the shade and I was not wearing a hat. I blistered on my scalp the next few days and within a year or so, I started losing my hair. I know that’s what it was because I can go back three generations on both sides of my family, men or women, with no hair loss.

I now come to the present. When we lived in Harrisburg, PA, I made a couple of yearly trips to the dermatologist to have some of the things on my head burned off. Occasionally, I would have Moh’s surgery to have some more serious things removed. At that time, I had no idea how much further advanced the health care here in South Carolina would be for older people.

I have now seen a rise in the number of procedures. At some points in the Moh’s surgery, I feel like the Frankenstein Monster. All I would need for a Halloween costume would be the two electrodes on both sides of my neck. I must wear a hat all of the time, so that that I do not frighten any small children when I go shopping in the local supermarket

As I continued with all of these procedures, I noticed that, at the same time, I was losing weight. I normally weigh about 183 lbs. I now tip the scales (what a wonderful statement) at about 175. Why is this important? I have now ascribed my weight loss to the surgery that I have been having.

Although each surgery on removes a few grams, it really builds up over time. I certainly would not suggest that this is a weight reduction program, but it certainly is another way of looking at a situation. I will also be happy to step on my bathroom scale, when I remove the copious band aids on my scalp.

I intend to present this to Dr.Smith, my dermatologist as a way of making patients more comfortable with the surgeries.

Leave a Reply

