MY BABY AND HER BABY VISIT

A number of years ago I took an old video tape from 1974 and took it to a person who transforms videos into DVDs. In our rush to move to South Carolina, I almost forgot where the dvd was. I located it in a pile of some movies that I had been hiding in a cabinet in the living room. After playing around with the DVD player and our new 65” tv, I put it on and watched it.
I had taken it with a camera that I had borrowed from the junior high school of which I was the principal. The first image is of my son and daughter ages 6 and 4. I was entranced by their talking and laughing at a t.v. show. Just looking at them, as they used to be, put me in a mellow mood. I was entranced to see them as they were compared to what they are now at ages 46 and 48.
It startles me to think that these were the small children that were born to us and lived with us until they went to college. Even those days they were still young kids in our eyes. Their ability to fend for themselves did not really surprise us, but it kind of caught us up short.
They are now adults in their middle years (and don’t tell me that 50 is the new 40 and so on). They have their own families- my son with two children and my daughter with three. When we were contemplating moving to South Carolina, we had a meeting with our two children and their spouses. They told us that if we wanted to move, this was the right time. In five years, we might not be physically able to do it. They are probably right.
Our son and daughter, as well as our son-in-law, have all visited us in the almost five months that we have been living here. The next visit will be in a few days, on New Year’s Day. Our baby will be visiting us with her baby. That is hard for me to get my mind around. My granddaughter, Miss Paige is 15 years old and a sophomore in high school. She has many talents, as do all of our grandchildren. I promise that I am not bragging.
Our granddaughter is somewhat of a cook and has requested some esoteric items to be purchased. I don’t think that I have ever tasted some of the things that she asked us to buy. I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us. My daughter will undoubtedly want to rearrange some of our furnishings and if she has her way, we will be off to some of the stores to buy things. That has been a process for many years. Actually, she has a wonderful eye for design.
On New Year’s Eve, we will gather at home with some friends to welcome in the New Year. There will be snacks galore, as well as the traditional bubbly at midnight. It is hard for me to fathom a year called 2016. Those were years in the far future in all the sci-fi books that I read as a teenager and young adult. By this time robots would have taken over, we would have reached other solar systems, society would have calmed down and there would be no hunger or wars. However, we were going to be invaded by aliens.
Funny, how things really have not changed much, other than technology. For me the most delightful thing about this coming year will be visits with my children and grandchildren. So there Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury and Arthur Clarke.

One thought on “MY BABY AND HER BABY VISIT

Leave a Reply

