I WAX SOMEWHAT ELOQUENT

I am not a professional talking head, nor am I a pundit of any kind. I see what I see and that’s about it. I am blithered by how we are reaching two candidates, one from each party, to run for the presidency. Everything that I was taught about political science during my Master’s Degree at the New School for Social Research is now down the drain. With 24 hour coverage of almost all events political, one can see the circus atmosphere of a serious event in our lives.

The next presidency will propel us into a new era of the 21st century. We have lots to look forward to as I sit here in adult Disneyworld. Political philosophy will fall to hubris and lots of a lack of understanding of how our country and laws work. There is a dearth of understanding that the President does not make the laws, nor does the Congress pass bills by themselves into laws, that social security really is a federal government program and that the feds really don’t have the right to interfere with education. All of those understandings have gone by the boards.

What is now normal are brash people saying things that are patently absurd and also untrue. The meaning of patriotism is now tied to whether you wear a lapel flag pin. I might not agree with decisions of the Supreme Court, but I am not aligned with those who see 5 unelected Supreme Court members changing the nature of laws as a horror, or illegal at the least.

 

Leave a Reply

