DEATH IN THE CAPITOL- CHAPTER XXX

I called Margaret, Jonathan and Sara. I gave each of them as much information as I dared. They were very worried about me, as I was about them. I was praying that they were not in any danger. I felt that my entrance into the investigation on my own could be both. Evidently, I had said something to Margaret about the Sons of Liberty. She must have said something to Jonathan. He is an avid internet surfer and pretty good researcher. He had looked up the Sons of Liberty and was sending me an email about the origins and the people involved. On the phone he told me that the organization had its roots in Framingham, Massachusetts. I was very anxious to read what else he had found out. The name Framingham was enough to get all of the wheels turning in my head. I was sure that we were now on some kind of trail. Hopefully, it would not be short circuited by me being disposed of.

I called Eric Haakenson and made an appointment to see him the following day. I notified Commander Waslewski about the appointment and he said he would be able to make it. I told him that I would drive with him into the city. That night, I looked at the information that Jonathan had uncovered about the original Sons of Liberty. There were the names-McIntosh, Gill and Edes, the men usually ascribed as the actual founders of the organization. The nature of the organization, if you could call it that was just as peculiar today as it was then. It appeared that there was no structure to it, just members. None of the members really knew who the other members were. Each of the colonies had some sort of master at the top of the food chain, but no one really knew who he (in one case, she) really was. All communication was done by physical contact, riders on horseback,  an early form of the pony express.

Actions were taken within the colonies with little instruction from a central authority. In certain instances, events were planned far in advance to happen on certain days. These directions came from a William McIntosh in Framingham, Massachusetts. There were no rejections of any of these directions, either from the central authority (which happened very infrequently), or from the colonial masters. All happenings were never discussed, with either insiders or outsiders. Local actions were not the purview of the central authority. They were done by local members of the Sons of Liberty.

Is it possible that there was such an organization still in existence today? Certainly communication would be easier in the 21st century, but the manner of the form of the organization could really be the same. Why would such an organization exist? Was it to change the nature of our democracy? Would it be to replace all of our public servants, and possibly captains of industry with likeminded people? Although things were not really clear, at least there was a germ of an idea. I was very thankful to my son for his endeavors on my part. What a boy, I owe him.

Somehow, I had a suspicion that I was being followed pretty much all of the time. I was also cognizant of a presence outside of my home pretty much during the evening hours I was tempted to call Chief Banion and ask him if he was watching me. I decided not to. I could always ask Commander Waslewski the same question. He had not really promised to keep an eye on me. However, with things going so fast and I was obviously in someone’s cross hairs, he would be having me watched more closely.

In our drive to meet Eric Haakenson, I asked him if there were troopers around my home in the evening. He told me that over the last week, he had seen a need to get some protection for me. I was not as open as I would have liked, but I know he was being very cautious. Sometimes, it’s best not to know.

We arrived at Eric’s office at about 10:00 a.m. He was waiting for us in the reception area on the 4th floor of the federal building. He really had not changed in all of those years. He was a tall person with stringy grey hair (formerly blonde) and piercing blue eyes. If I did not know better, I would have thought that they were contact lenses He ushered us into his office. He closed the door and asked us to begin from the beginning. He listened and took notes. For some reason, I felt that he did not feel comfortable having anyone in the office know about what was going on.

After a while, he got rid of his notebook and looked at us as we responded to his questions. There was something in his questions that made me believe that all of this was not news to him. I finally said, “Eric, what the heck is going on here. It appears that you know more about our story than we do. Why haven’t you brought in anyone to help you with this case, if there is one?” Eric pulled a chair closer to where we were sitting. He said, “Listen Chet and a trustworthy commander of the state police. Have you thought about the possibilities of people in your own offices and management being involved in this activity? Is it possible that this organization has infiltrated lots of levels of society in both government and private industry? How about the world of religion? Are there any of these people there? Could it be that the head of denominations, large churches and ministers, priests, rabbis, imans, etc are part of this so very secret organization?”

Honestly, I thought of some of those things, but Eric was clearer about things than I was. Commander Waslewski commented that his own experience with that phone call was an annoyance, but now takes on larger significance. “Are you saying that you don’t trust anyone here?” “Not exactly,” said Eric, “but I am not going to take any chances. I have done some of my own research and although there is never something that you can put a finger on, there are certain instances that only are explained by the Sons of Liberty acting with impunity.

Leave a Reply

