BITCHES

O.K., so I am old and conservative. I am not got at accepting new words being added to the dictionary. I am also very disappointed when old words get new meanings. I bristle at the new meanings of radical, awesome, gay, and others. When I get too bilious, Carol settles me down and tells me that our generation did the exact same thing. I point out to her that the English language is being corrupted by email, Instagram, texting and so on. So don’t get me going about L.O.L., u , BTW, TGIF and others.

I guess what will happen is that my own angst will subside and I will continue to bite my lip, stanch the bleeding, and skulk off to my corner and just shake my head. I have not had any of these discussions with my grandchildren who would look at me like I had just escaped from the rubber room. I am more likely to squawk to people of my own age who just nod their heads and continue on with what they were doing.

I have not made such a big deal about these new words in recent months, except for one thing. I abhor the word “BITCHES” when applied to women. Not only does t.v. make use of that word indistriminantly, but women seem to have no problem calling each other that word. I have even heard kids in schools using the word and calling each other (almost always girls) using that word to describe themselves or other girls.

There are even t.v. shows that feature that word. I have not seen a complete program, but “Mean Girls” makes a fetish of it. It seems to have seeped into all of our workaday activities. No one seems to mind being called a bitch.

In my mind it is abhorrent. It connotes (or even denotes) something awful about female human beings. It separates people from each other, even more than the usual groupings. It is used to demean and denigrate another human being. If you are using the word in a casual manner, in an even tone, it is still a horrible thing to say to or about someone. This is not one of those things that I will allow to slip by.

Leave a Reply

